Minimum wage rises in 2020; other wage requirements also take effect
December 30, 2019
Tumwater – The minimum wage in Washington will increase to $13.50 an hour starting Jan. 1, 2020. It's the final increase mandated under a voter-approved initiative.
The state minimum wage applies to workers age 16 and older. Under state law, employers can pay 85 percent of the minimum wage to workers ages 14-15. For 2020, that would be $11.48. Tips do not count toward a worker's minimum wage.
Forty-three Washington workers to be honored for saving lives on the job
September 24, 2019
Tumwater – Many heroes don't train, practice or plan to be lifesavers, yet when the need unexpectedly arises, often there are people willing to charge in and help.
On Sept. 25, the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries and the Governor's INdustrial Safety & Health Board will honor 43 heroic Washington workers during the Governor's Industrial Safety and Health Conference in Tacoma.